The cottage is situated on a 65 acre family homestead.
As you enter the sitting/dining area, the view -- through windows on two sides - will be across
a pond to acres of meadow and forest.
We are located at: 1723 Fort Hill Road
Fort Hill, PA 15540
History of James Campbell Farm
Nestled between pond and forest on our 1780's
mountain farm, our cottage is the perfect retreat for
quiet reflection or a base from which to explore.
Come and see how peaceful country life can be.
James Campbell received acreage as a "Warrant" on the 14th day of June 1787 following his military service. At the time Addison Twp. was "situated on Laurel run a Branch of the Little Crossings-in Turkeyfoot Township Bedford County and was very much the frontier, with poor access, endless virgin forests and a remnant Native American population. The Campbell's were of Scottish descent and built a typical Scot-Irish style log cabin for their home, which remains the farm's primary residence. Not long after building the cabin, Martha, the first wife of James, died on December 9, 1806 - the same year Lewis and Clark reappeared in St. Louis on their return trip from exploring the continent. Martha is buried with 27 others in a graveyard that is located at a site just below the cottage. Her grave is the only one with a carved stone. The final resting places of the other 27 are marked with fieldstones. Who they were or what their stories may have been remains part of the farm's frontier mystery.
Sometime after WWII a two-story chicken house, which was built of red clay tiles fired at Otto Brick in nearby Springs, PA was built on a site below and behind the barn. This building was reclaimed and remodeled into the current cottage. The loft area as well as kitchen and bathroom cabinets were crafted from locally cut wormy oak while the deck was build of Black Locust cut from the farm.
The spring in front of the cottage, which was once the farm's only water source, now feeds the adjacent pond, vernal pools and abundant wildflowers and wildlife.
The James Campbell Farm remains an intact remnant of the historic Appalachian farm lifestyle nestled in a beautiful and serene mountain landscape. A place to reflect, play and appreciate the bounty of nature and the joy of recreating in a tranquil country landscape.
Through the years the farm's residents raised crops and livestock, sheared wool, boiled maple syrup, gathered and sold American Chestnuts (the dominant tree on the farm before the blight) and dug house coal in two mines excavated and worked by the farmers themselves. In 1919, as WWI ended and the owner's oldest son returned from the conflict, the farm was split between their two sons. It was at this time that the original log barn and sheep buildings were replaced with the current timber framed barn and out buildings and a frame addition was added to the log cabin, after removing the original stone fireplace.
Now booking for May - mid-Oct. 2014